Extended Compact and Walk Through States That Work With Your Nursing License

Story by Milenia Medical Editor / December 18, 2015

The Extended Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC)

In 2014, the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) began an initiative to enhance the NLC and further increase the mobility of nurses, allowing those residing in certain states to obtain a multi-state license. Known as the Extended Nurse Licensure Compact, or eNLC, nurses with this “Compact License” may practice in their home state, as well as in other states that participate in the program. Today, 29 states offer Compact Nursing Licensure and several other states are either working on legislation or their membership is simply pending implementation.

Walk-Through States allow nurses to obtain a temporary license to work. This process usually only takes between 1-2 days and a temp license is issued while the nurse’s permanent license is being processed. Walk-Though state licenses are valid for up to 6 months, depending on the state that is issuing the license. Today, 5 states and The District of Columbia are considered Walk-Through.

There are 4 states that are both Compact and Walk-Through, making it as easy as possible for nurses to quickly get licensed. See our map below for an overview.



  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska

  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming


  • Arizona
  • Washington D.C
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Missouri
  • South Carolina

Search Jobs

Thousands of healthcare jobs available now across the USA